My Vicky Sponge Recipe

I love to bake and this one is a simple on anyone can master, from absolute beginners to wanna-be Mary Berry pros. My mum, who is strong on the cooking front by a long shot can even make a mean one of these so get into the kitchen and be ready to impress your friends or co-workers with this beauty of a cake!

A Victoria Sponge or what I call a Vicky Sponge is a traditional British cake made up of two simple sponges with jam in the middle, perfect with a cup of tea. I have found many recipes and I have mastered the Lorraine Pascal recipe but this recipe is from Merry Berrys traditional cake book.

DSC_0733

Ingredients

  • 225g Caster Sugar
  • 225g soft butter
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 2 tea spoons of baking powder
  • a drop of vanilla essence
  • 4 eggs

Middle

  • 200g of double cream
  • 2 tea spoons of icing sugar
  • a drop of vanilla essence
  • some jam – flavour of your choice! (I personally go for either strawberry of raspberry then throw a few fresh ones in the middle if I am feeling really generous)

 

DSC_0745

1 | Firstly pre heat the oven. I cannot stress this enough, I have learnt through experience cakes bake better in a pre-heated oven. Grease proof the cake tins thoroughly with the bottom being grease proof paper (baking paper) as you can see I did not have any so struggled getting the cake out of the tins.

DSC_0746DSC_0749

2 | Now Mary suggests to put all of the ingredients all at the same time, where as I have learned you are better off creaming the sugar and butter together first to get any lumps out. If you don’t have a fancy mixer like they do on the Bake Off then expect to work out as you cream these two together!

3 | Then pop in two of the eggs, mix a little, then add the other 2 eggs and half of the flour. Mix and then add the rest of the flour. A top tip from an old collegue he reccomened to sieve the flour to avoid any extra lumps. A wooden spoon is best for top tip mixing!

DSC_0760

4 | Separate the mixture between the two tins and smooth over with the back of your spoon so it is nice and even. Then pop it in the oven for 22 minutes, if you have an overly hot oven then make sure they are not near the top. Try not to open the oven as they cook as that may cause them to sink or not rise (classic mother Moorley faux par)

As you can see by the pictures my cakes rose a little too much! Normally with self-raising flour you won’t need the baking powder but I followed Marys ways and these beasts of a cake spilled over!

5 | Let the cake cool before you even dream to start making the middle. I had to use a fish slice to get my cakes out as I had no baking paper and due to the over flow of cake it was quite a challenge.

6 | Whip the cream in a bowl with the vanilla extra and ice sugar (they are my own personal sweet touches) it should thicken reasonably quickly if done by hand. Once the cakes are cooled layer the jam first followed by the cream. A sprinkle of icing sugar on top then boom, you have one Vicky Sponge!

DSC_0768

Enjoy!

(I also had a helping hand of my new flatmate Rupert)

DSC_0762

 

One thought on “My Vicky Sponge Recipe

Leave a Reply

